“What does the F word mean to you?” Individual Interviews

Hi everyone! πŸ™‚

Here are some videos that I took for my “What does the F word mean to you?” video project. These are kinda like the Behind The Scenes (BTS) because these are the full length videos of the ones I’ve shot though due to time limitations I was unable to include all of them into my video project. Hope you have fun listening to the different inputs of my friends as well as looking at their expressions after the interview! Sorry for the slightly annoying “What does the F word mean to you?” question that I ask in every video… Was to give myself some space to cut the video from the start and to give my interviewees a good cue πŸ™‚

My korean friend Chae Eun’s take on what the F word means to her. The gentle tone in her voice when she says that she just speaks out the F word when she’s angry is so funny…

My Singaporean friend Sheryl’s take on the F word. “It’s the most versatile word I know…”

My Hong Kong friend Fion’s take on the issue. πŸ™‚

Another of my Singaporean friend Ben’s take on the subject. I approached him in the convenience shop when I saw him during a break, told him the topic and asked him if he could help me. He said yes and when I met him later in the day to shoot I asked him if he needed some time to prepare. He said that he’s got it covered and has already prepared what to say.

THEN when I shot him…
Me: “What does the F word mean to you?”
(Doesn’t notice anything amiss) Ben: “Effort is when you put him so much that you…”
Me: “EH WAIT. IT’S F WORD NOT EFFORT!!!” HAHAHAHA.

Okay maybe I’ve got to work on my articulation. πŸ™‚

My Singaporean roommate and fellow EWN classmate Fiona’s input on the topic. She’s so cute… She went to google how many words there are to make her point in the interview. The effort :’)

My Tanzanian friend Sunday’s response to “What does the F word mean to you?”. The pitch he reaches in “F WORD?” is beyond me… I would always try to mimick him whenever he says something in that ridiculous high pitch.

My Dutch friend and another EWN classmate Carmen’s answer to the question. πŸ™‚

This is a introduction that I initially wanted to include in the video. But this video was just too long… Haha.

This is the full length video of the conclusion which I included a snippet of in my final video. πŸ™‚ My personal input on the issue.

I actually conceptualised this idea when I was taking a photography class last Semester in Singapore and was staring up at the high ceilings in the class. My initial plan was to make this concept into a photo project by taking photo of the respondents and including their answers as captions. But I couldn’t figure out how to artistically capture the shots… However,Β I think this is something that I still want to try develop in the future. πŸ™‚ #personalprojects

Hope you liked the videos… To greater quality!

Have a smashing week ahead.

Leave a Reply

